Endowed Scholarships and Funds

Shilling Hall

Provide enduring support for scholarships, funds and awards

Millikin University has more than 600 endowed and named scholarships, funds and awards. Endowing your gift is a way to ensure it becomes a reliable and permanent part of Millikin’s future. The minimum gift amount to endow a scholarship, fund or award is $20,000.

Give to an existing endowed scholarship, fund or award.

Can't find what you are looking for, or ready to endow a new gift? Contact Alumni & Development at 217-424-6383 or alumdev@millikin.edu to learn more.

Endowed Scholarships

Endowed scholarships are awarded annually to deserving students based upon the criterion the donor chooses in consultation with Alumni & Development staff. Scholarships can be named in honor of a loved one, faculty member, class or team.


Class of 1966 Scholarship: In honor of their 50th class reunion, the Class of 1966 established an annual scholarship to be awarded to an undergraduate student, with preference for a full-time student with at least a rising sophomore standing, demonstrated financial need, notable academic achievements, and community and school involvement.

ATO Layne C Triplett Memorial Scholarship: Helps Millikin ATOs pursue their dream of a college education at Millikin. Layne helped get ATO off the ground at Millikin—a scholarship that provides funding seemed an apt testament to the man who helped found Alpha Tau Omega.

Endowed Funds

Endowed funds provide a continuous source of annual support to the area of the donor’s choosing. They can support departments, faculty positions, athletic teams, and more. Funds can be named in honor of a loved one, faculty member, class or team.


Richard "Dick" Pobanz Softball Fund: Named for beloved volunteer assistant and pitching coach for the Millikin Softball team throughout the 1990shelps fund softball operating expenses such as equipment, team travel and other operational needs.

Dr. Randal Beck Mathematics and Actuarial Science Fund: Provides financial assistance for Millikin students who are sitting for actuarial (CAS or SOA) exams. The fund assists students in this program with expenses related to taking the actuarial exams, including exam fees and/or study materials.

Nellie Waddell Endowment: Provides funding assistance for deserving vocal students to help underwrite their personal costs associated with touring with Millikin’s internationally recognized University Choir.

Endowed Awards

Endowed awards help to celebrate and acknowledge the achievements of our students, faculty and staff. Awards are based on the criterion of the donor’s choosing and are typically awarded at Honors Convocation annually. Funds can be named in honor of a loved one, faculty member, class or team.


Andrew Strand Memorial Theatre Gypsy Award: Established by family and friends in memory of Andrew Strand, a BFA in Musical Theatre in 2003. The award is to be given to a Millikin University student who is an outstanding ensemble performer for either a specific performance, or body of work.

Dr. Ed and Lucy Acheson Award for Excellence in First Year Chemistry: Associate Professor Emeritus Dr. Ed Acheson was a dedicated educator and university leader for 35 years prior to his retirement in 2014. This award is given to Millikin University students who display the desire to learn and understand the fundamentals of chemistry.