Brass at Millikin University

The brass department at Millikin University welcomes you to the brass websites for trumpet, horn, trombone, tuba and euphonium. The Millikin brass faculty, made up of the following faculty: Robert Sears, Stephen Burian, Dr. Gary Shaw and Tim Schachtschneider, are believers in the mentor/apprentice model in that they "practice what they preach." All are skilled professional players and caring teachers who are dedicated to helping students build successful careers in music. Please feel free to contact any of our brass professors with inquiries regarding brass playing opportunities at Millikin University.

robert sears



Robert Sears (trumpet)




stephen burian



Stephen Burian (french horn)





Gary Shaw


Dr. Gary Shaw (trombone)




tim schachtschneider



Tim Schachtschneider (tuba &  euphonium)