August 25, 2017 at 1:30pm
Dane Lisser

Science Entrepreneurship Speaker Series focuses on job creation

The Millikin University Institute for Science Entrepreneurship (ISE), a signature program of Millikin's Center for Entrepreneurship, is pleased to announce its speaker series for the fall 2017 semester. This fall, all presentations will begin at 7:30 p.m. in the new University Commons on Millikin's campus. Presentations are free and open to the public, and no tickets or reservations are required. 

Formed by Dr. David Horn, professor of biology, Dr. George Bennett, professor of chemistry, and Dr. Casey Watson, associate professor of physics and astronomy at Millikin, the Millikin University Institute for Science Entrepreneurship teaches courses in science entrepreneurship, oversees the Clinical Nuclear Science Program, conducts applied research with companies in the natural and health sciences, and hosts a speaker series on science entrepreneurship. 

Millikin ISE Speaker Series

The ISE mission is to connect Millikin University, its students, and the greater community to opportunities for personal, professional and organizational advancement through science entrepreneurship. 

The 2017-2018 Institute for Science Entrepreneurship Speaker Series focuses on how entrepreneurship can spark job creation and societal well-being.

For more information about the speaker series or the Millikin University Institute for Science Entrepreneurship, contact Dr. David Horn at 217.424.6392, by e-mail at or visit

Fall 2017 Institute for Science Entrepreneurship Speaker Series

Tuesday, Aug. 29

Speaker: James Aikman, President of Aikman Wildlife Adventure

Thursday, Oct. 19

Speaker: Sudhanshu Singh, Global Product Manager for Large Mining Trucks for Caterpillar Inc.

Thursday, Nov. 9

Speaker: Paul Bloom, Vice President, Process and Chemical Research for Archer Daniels Midland Company

Tuesday, Dec. 5

Speaker: Rob Dongoski, Global Agribusiness Leader for Ernst & Young

The Institute for Science Entrepreneurship was originally funded by a Millikin University Performance Learning Enhancement Grant in December 2012. Since that time, the institute has been pledged or received funding and support from the Andreas Foundation through the Community Foundation of Macon County, Archer Daniels Midland Company, Brechnitz Group of Raymond James, Busey, Caterpillar Decatur, Coleman Foundation, Decatur Memorial Foundation, Decatur Memorial Hospital, John Ullrich Foundation, Millikin University, National Foodworks Services, Parke Warehouses, St. Mary's Hospital, Tate & Lyle, Wild Bird Feeding Industry, Zevacor Molecular, a private foundation and several anonymous donors.