October 23, 2019 at 11:15am
Dane Lisser

Dr. Dan Monroe to serve as Illinois Historian on ALPLM Board of Directors

Illinois Governor J.B. Pritzker has appointed Dr. Dan Monroe, associate professor of history and chair of the Department of History and Political Science at Millikin University, to the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum (ALPLM) Board of Directors. Dr. Monroe will serve as the Illinois Historian on the board as mandated by the enabling legislation.

"I'm grateful to Governor J.B. Pritzker for nominating me to the ALPLM Board of Trustees," said Monroe. "The Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum is a priceless state and national resource with a dedicated staff. I look forward to advancing the mission of the ALPLM as the Illinois Historian."

Throughout his career, Dr. Monroe has been actively involved in celebrating Illinois' rich history. In May 2019, he was elected to serve a two-year term as president of the Illinois State Historical Society (ISHS). In January 2017, he was appointed chair of the Illinois Historic Sites Advisory Council for the 2017-2019 term. Before his appointment as chair, he previously served on the Illinois Historic Sites Advisory Board for a three-year term, including one year as chair. In February 2018, Dr. Monroe was elected to the Board of Directors of the Abraham Lincoln Association (ALA), and is currently serving a three-year term.

Dan Monroe

The Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum Board of Trustees was established to set policy and advise the ALPLM Agency and the Executive Director on programs related to the ALPLM Agency. The duties of the ALPLM Agency Board include: setting policies and establishing programs for implementation in support of the mission and goals of the ALPLM Agency; engaging in marketing activities designed to promote the ALPLM Agency; creating and executing seminars or other conferences as may be necessary or advisable to the ALPLM Agency and more.

Dr. Monroe received a Ph.D. in History from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1998 where he worked with Robert W. Johannsen. Dr. Monroe was the John C. Griswold Distinguished Professor of History at Millikin from 2008-2010. He currently serves on the editorial board of the Journal of Illinois History and is the author of three books: "The Republican Vision of John Tyler" (2003), "At Home with Illinois' Governors: A Social History of the Illinois Executive Mansion" (2002) and "Shapers of the Great Debate on the Civil War: A Biographical Dictionary" (2005), with co-author Dr. Bruce Tap.

Dan Monroe

Dr. Monroe received the Heiligenstein Award for Teaching Excellence and was a fellow at the Virginia Historical Society and Lincoln Legal Papers. He has been a faculty member of Millikin's History Department since 2006.

The Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum is dedicated to telling the story of America's 16th president through old-fashioned scholarship and modern technology. The library holds an unparalleled collection of Lincoln books, documents, photographs, artifacts and art, as well as approximately 12 million items pertaining to all aspects of Illinois history. The museum uses traditional exhibits, eye-catching special effects and innovative storytelling techniques to educate visitors.

Dan Monroe

Appointments to the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum Board are pending confirmation by the Illinois Senate.

Magazine Issue: