February 28, 2019 at 1:30pm
Dane Lisser

Millikin faculty and students honored for superior scholarship

Millikin University's chapter of The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi recently inducted a total of 37 new members during an initiation ceremony on Feb. 24 at the University Commons on Millikin’s campus.

Among the six faculty and staff initiates are:

Dr. Julio Enriquez-Ornelas, assistant professor of Spanish

Dr. Dan Monroe, associate professor of history and chair of the Department of History and Political Science

Dr. Silvan Negrutiu, assistant professor of music and coordinator of keyboard studies

Z Paul Reynolds, director of student development and the University Commons

Dr. Carrie S. Trimble, associate professor of marketing and director, Center for International Education

Dr. Patrick E. White, president of Millikin University

Millikin Phi Kappa Phi

The 31 student inductees include:

Maggie Baltz, of Millstadt, Ill.

Christina Kay Bell, of Champaign, Ill.

Emily Boes, of Princeton, Ill.

Matthew Brown, of Champaign

Samson Callear, of Mapleton, Ill.

Zachary Cary, of Saint Charles, Mo.

Lane Caspar, of Sherman, Ill.

Kimberly Christnacht, of Lakewood, Colo.

Maggie Comerford, of Decatur, Ill.

Deborah Corr, of Sycamore, Ill.

Jordyn Michelle Eads, of Cerro Gordo, Ill.

Kalli Farmer, of Columbia, Ill.

Nicole Gray, of Springfield, Ill.

Sydney Grohler, of Sullivan, Ill.

M. Isabella Hernandez, of Manhattan, Ill.

Robert Hickey, of Forsyth, Ill.

Taylor Isaia, of Mapleton

Amber Johnson, of Decatur

Taylor Jordan, of Moweaqua, Ill.

Eliska Kostelny, of Elgin, Ill.

Brittany Krohn, of Princeton

Joshua Logan, of Argenta, Ill.

Nicholas Marcogliese, of Kincaid, Ill.

Dayle McMahon, of Decatur

Erica Mooney, of Decatur

Katie Petrowsky, of Decatur

Sharon Renfro, of Decatur

Tressa Rudolph, of Sandoval, Ill.

Eliana Simon, of Overland Park, Kan.

Selena Smail, of Decatur

Mikaela Wattleworth, of Decatur

Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest, largest, and most selective all-discipline honor society. The Society's mission is to recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others. Its chapters are on more than 300 college and university campuses.

"We are proud to welcome 31 new student inductees, and six faculty and staff members into Millikin University Chapter 52 of Phi Kappa Phi," said Chapter President Mandi Podeschi '02, senior director of development at Millikin. "These persons have been chosen on the basis of their superior scholarship. We are pleased and proud that each has chosen to become part of a century-old community of scholars and professionals that includes individuals who have distinguished themselves in positions of leadership, whose careers have been characterized by achievement, and who have dedicated themselves to service."

Podeschi added, "By virtue of its interdisciplinary nature, Phi Kappa Phi elects its membership from all academic fields within the university. The Society's values are conveyed in its motto, 'Let the love of learning rule humanity' and our goal is to continue that philosophy at Millikin University."

Millikin's chapter of Phi Kappa Phi, established in 1950, invites the top students, as well as a limited number of faculty, staff, and alumni to join the chapter each year.

Phi Kappa Phi

To become a member of Phi Kappa Phi, senior undergraduates shall be in the upper 10 percent of their class in each college or division. Juniors are drawn from the upper 7.5 percent of their class. Graduate and professional students who have completed one full year of study and are in the upper 10 percent of all candidates for graduate or professional degrees are also eligible for membership. Faculty, administrators, professional staff, and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction, service, and leadership also qualify for membership.

Every two years the honor society as a whole gives away over more than $1 million to outstanding students, members, and chapters. Those inducted into Phi Kappa Phi are qualified for annual grants and awards.