Join the Millikin Symphonic Wind Ensemble for our last concert of this unique season as we present a diverse array of exciting music for winds, brass, and percussion.

The first half of our program looks backward, paying homage to four influential historical composers and the evolution of the wind ensemble. The second half looks forward to new beginnings and features a vibrant array of contemporary music with themes of joy, peace, creativity, and hope. We’ll open the concert with what some consider to be the first wind ensemble piece ever written - a 424-year-old “canzon” by Giovanni Gabrieli - and conclude it with the world premiere of a brand new piece written by Millikin student composer Bradley Perry. 

Live Stream


Giovanni Gabrieli - Canzon Septimi Toni a 8 (1597)

J.S. Bach, arr. Pann - Prelude (BWV 825) and Fugue (BWV 866) in B-flat major (1722/1726)

Percy Grainger - The Merry King (1936/1939)

Gustav Holst - First Suite in E-flat (1909)

Frank Ticheli - Joy Revisited (2002)

Kevin Day - A Hymn for Peace (2017/2020)

Erika Svanoe - Mary Shelley Meets Frankenstein (2019/2020)

Bradley Perry - Duality (2021) *world premiere

Event Date

Friday, April 30, 2021 - 7:30pm