Masterwork I

Masterworks I

Opening Night: Inspired by Shakespeare

Saturday, September 23, 2017 at 7:30pm | KIRKLAND FINE ARTS CENTER
Tickets: $10, $15, $20

Tchaikovsky: Romeo and Juliet Fantasy-Overture
​Shostakovich: Piano Concerto No. 2, Op. 102, F Major
Guest artist supported by David and Norma Fathauer Symphonic Music Fund
Prokofiev: Selections from Romeo and Juliet Ballet
With dancers LUIZA BOAVENTURA and NOAH HART from The Alabama Ballet
Original Choreography by Roger van Fleteren 
Guest dancers supported by Dr. Paul and Shirley Stanley

 Noah Hart Luiza Boaventura

The MDSO 2017-18 season officially opens with an evening of romantic tragedy inspired by the Bard himself. The orchestra pairs Tchaikovsky’s fantasy with Prokofiev’s ballet, both retelling the story of star-crossed lovers, Romeo and Juliet. In the midst of these two masterpieces stands Shostakovich’s transcendent Second Piano Concerto, featuring an “astonishing” and “uplifting” performance by special guest pianist, Ilya Yakushev. “If music be the food of love, play on!”

Buy Tickets     Purchase Ticket Package

Event Date

Saturday, September 23, 2017 - 7:30pm