Millikin Band Workshop

Monday, September 24, 2018: 9:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.

Millikin University, Kirkland Fine Arts Center, 1184 W Main Street, Decatur Il 62522

Dr. Peter Boonshaft

An event designed for high school band musicians to gain experience from a world-renowned guest conductor and expert Millikin faculty as they “jump-start” their All-State audition preparation. Students will work with Dr. Peter Boonshaft from Hofstra University, a well-known author, clinician, and guest conductor who has led honor bands and all-state ensembles around the world. Students will also have an opportunity to attend workshops on the all-state audition material for their instrument and clinics will be available for directors.

The workshop culminates in a concert of the Honor Band performing repertoire on stage at the Kirkland Fine Arts Center including clarinet soloist David Cook, Professor of Clarinet at Millikin University. Directors are invited to nominate 5 students to participate in the workshop and students will be selected based on grade and experience. Registration fee: $10 per student (includes lunch). Deadline: Sept. 3, 2018.

Contact Neal Smith for additional information at


Register for the Band Workshop



Registration in the lobby of the Kirkland Fine Arts Center

Honor Band warm-up and rehearsal with Peter Boonshaft

“Musical Opportunities in College” with Brynn Kickle, Musical University Admissions

Honor Band rehearsal with Peter Boonshaft/”Assessing the Band and the Student” clinic for directors with Dr. Neal Smith

Lunch/tour campus/meet with Millikin students. 

All-State Workshops with Millikin faculty

Sectionals led by Millikin students and faculty/Clinic with Peter Boonshaft for directors

Honor Band rehearsal with Peter Boonshaft

Break/change for concert

Concert at Kirkland Fine Arts Center

Millikin Wind, Brass, and Percussion Faculty

  • Amanda Pond, flute
  • Tina Nicholson, oboe
  • David Cook, clarinet
  • Claire Taylor, bassoon
  • Perry Rask, saxophone
  • Randall Reyman, trumpet
  • Steve Schepper, horn
  • Gary Shaw, trombone
  • Tim Schachtschneider, tuba
  • Jeremy Brunk, percussion
  • Aaron Villarreal, percussion
  • Neal Smith, instrumental music education