Norman & Heather Hoback '78

Norman & Heather Hoback


Norman Hoback ’78 and Heather Reid Hoback ’80 of Belleville, Ill., are co-recipients of the 2015 Loyalty Award. These faithful friends of Millikin have been consistently generous with their time, talents and treasures on behalf of their alma mater. Through their support of the “Transform MU” capital campaign, the Hobacks are members of Millikin’s Investors Society. During the “Advancing the Vision” capital campaign, they donated to the Campaign for Science and the Alden Trust Challenge, helping fund two classrooms in Leighty-Tabor Science Center. Members of the former Loyal Blue Club, the Hobacks have also contributed to the Douglas E. Zemke International Fellows Program, the Class of 1978 Scholarship and the Chemistry Fellows Fund. They have often maximized their giving through the matching gifts program at their employers. They also faithfully support The Millikin Fund for Student Scholarships each year.

The Hobacks are also generous with their time and talents. They previously served on Millikin’s St. Louis Alumni Board and are active and enthusiastic participants at alumni events in the St. Louis area.

While at Millikin, Norman received the Carl and Lucille Weatherbee Chemistry Award in 1977. He also served on the Student Affairs Committee in 1978 and the Environmental Affairs Committee in 1977-78. After earning a bachelor’s degree in chemistry, Norman worked as a manager at Burroughs Corp. and later, as computer operations manager for Southwestern Bell Telephone. After nearly 20 years with Southwestern Bell, he made a career change, earning a bachelor’s degree in pharmacy from St. Louis College of Pharmacy. After working as a staff pharmacist at hospitals in St. Louis and southern Illinois, he founded his own company, Norm The Pharmacist Inc., serving as a consultant and relief pharmacist for nearly 12 years. Since 2011, he has worked as a floating pharmacist and scheduling coordinator for Sears Holdings/Kmart in Illinois and Missouri. In September 2011, he was elected by the board of directors of the Illinois Pharmacists Association to a five-year term as a voting delegate to the United States Pharmacopieal (USP) Convention. Recognized internationally, USP is an official standards-setting organization for prescription and over-the-counter medications. He is also a member of the Illinois Pharmacists Association’s House of Delegates.

As a Millikin student, Heather Reid Hoback was a member of Alpha Kappa Psi business fraternity from 1977-80, serving as president in 1979. She was also a member of Phi Alpha Theta national history honor society in 1979-80. After graduating cum laude with a bachelor’s degree in marketing from the Tabor School of Business, she embarked on a career in the telecommunications industry, serving as an account executive, systems consultant and project manager at Bell Telephone subsidiaries and AT&T. After also holding positions at BJC Health System and Reuters, she most recently served as a telecommunications engineer at Verizon Business, retiring in 2011.

Published in the 2015 Homecoming program.