Glen R. Smith Award

For the outstanding senior from the Tabor School of Business.

Dr. Glen Smith was a significant Millikin figure for nearly 30 years. He began his tenure at Millikin as an assistant professor of Business Administration in 1946. Making Millikin history, he was the first dean of the School of Business and Industrial Management. He retired in 1974. A much beloved business professor, graduates of this era give great credit to Smith for the foundation that launched their successful business careers. Room 313 in ADM-Scovill Hall is named in his honor. Smith’s daughter, Nancy Smith Quigle, is a 1959 Millikin graduate.

Smith/Quigle Family Award

For the outstanding junior from the Tabor School of Business.

This award is named in honor of Glen R. Smith and his wife, Christine L. Smith and Nancy Quigle ’59 and her husband, Rodger.

John H. Crocker Memorial Award

For the outstanding degree candidate in the Tabor School of Business.

This award was established in 1974 by the friends and banking colleagues of the late John Crocker and by the Citizens National Bank where he served as president and chairman for seventeen years. A member of the Millikin University class of 1920, Crocker was also a graduate of Northwestern University and an Ensign in the Navy in World War I. His forty-seven year banking career included service as the first down-state Illinois banker to be elected to the Board of Directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago for three terms as well as service to the Executive Council of the American Bankers Association. Crocker was honored by Millikin in 1969 with the Alumni Merit-Loyalty Award for outstanding achievement in his career and for service to the University.

Margaret Sparks Award

For an outstanding junior woman business major.

This award was established in 1987 by friends and former students in honor the memory of Margaret R. Sparks, former chair of the Secretarial Science Department and a member of the Millikin faculty from 1946 to 1964.

Linda Weatherbee Human Resource Management Award

For the junior human resource management major with the highest overall grade point average.

This award was established by family and friends in memory of Linda Weatherbee, a member of the Millikin class of 1977.  Linda was the daughter of Dr. Carl and Lucile Weatherbee. Dr. Weatherbee was the chairman of the chemistry department.


Paul R. Winn Memorial Achievement Award

For an outstanding senior marketing major who displays a passion for the marketing field.

This award was established in 1980 by the friends and family of Paul R. Winn, a dear friend of Millikin University.