Millikin Home
Big Blue RSS
Millikin University - Decatur, IL
Press Releases
Mark Munoz Teaching Excellence AwardThe Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP) has named Dr. J. Mark Munoz, Millikin University associate professor of management and international business, the recipient for the Region 4 2013 ACBSP Teaching Excellence Award. The region includes Illinois, Indiana, Minnesota, Michigan, Ohio, Wisconsin, and Ontario, Canada. The Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs recognizes individuals annually from each of its 10 regions who exemplify teaching excellence in the classroom. The University of Indianapolis – Athens Campus is the financial sponsor for the 2013 award.

Munoz will be honored, along with other regional recipients, at the 2013 ACBSP Annual Conference, June 21-24 in Salt Lake City, Utah, and will receive a medallion and a $100 check. Two International Teaching Excellence Award recipients will be announced at a special Salute to Regions luncheon, one from a baccalaureate/graduate degree-granting institution and one from an associate degree-granting institution. As a regional recipient, Munoz is now a candidate for the international award.

"It would be difficult to imagine a candidate more suited for the ACBSP Teaching Excellence Award than Dr. J. Mark Munoz," says James O. Watson, interim dean of the Tabor School of Business at Millikin University. "He is one of Tabor's finest and most conscientious faculty in the classroom."

The Associate Degree Commission of ACBSP established the International Teaching Excellence Award in 1995 to recognize outstanding classroom teachers. In 2002, the Baccalaureate/Graduate Degree Commission created a similar award to recognize excellence in teaching at the baccalaureate/graduate degree level. ACBSP is the only specialized accrediting body for business schools that presents an award recognizing excellence in teaching, open to application by the entire membership.

Munoz in Classroom

"It is more important than ever for business programs to produce graduates who are ready to enter the global marketplace," said Douglas Viehland, ACBSP executive director. "ACBSP has a mission to develop, promote and recognize best practices that contribute to continuous improvement of business education. Recognition of teaching excellence is one way we achieve this goal," he stated.

Dr. Munoz added, "To be recognized for teaching excellence within our university is one thing, but to be recognized for excellence by an accrediting institution covering hundreds of colleges and universities across several states is an entirely different matter. I am quite surprised and amazed, moreover, I am thrilled that the Tabor School of Business and Millikin University have been recognized for its core strength - teaching. There are several individuals I'd like to thank for the award. Administrators such as Vice President for Academic Affairs Barry Pearson, former Dean Jim Dahl, and Interim Dean Jim Watson have always been supportive of my efforts. Tabor faculty members have always collaborated with me and guided me in many of my teaching endeavors. I don't view this simply as a personal award – it is recognition for excellence for the Tabor School of Business and Millikin University."

ACBSP currently has more than 1,171 member campuses in 52 countries and 10 regions. For more information on the Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs, visit www.acbsp.org.
Skip navigation links
Press Releases

Millikin University - Decatur, IL
Millikin University - Decatur, IL