Top Notch Science Facilities
Students at Millikin have the opportunity to study in the Leighty-Tabor Science Center, which opened in 2002. This modern building features facilities serving most of the natural science programs, including biology, chemistry, and physics.
Chemistry Department History
Chemistry has been a part of Millikin University since it opened in 1901. The department has grown from one faculty member to five to cover each of the main sub-disciplines of chemistry. It has a proud tradition of quality instruction, including undergraduate research for all chemistry majors and preparation for disciplines such as nursing, pharmacy and medicine.
Chemistry students here have benefited from access to local corporations in which chemistry is integral to their industry. The opening of the Leighty-Tabor Science Center in 2002 also contributed to an improved chemistry experience at Millikin.
The Leighty-Tabor Science Center is named after Dr. John Leighty (above) and his wife, Ula Leighty. Both received undergraduate degrees in science from Millikin University, Dr. Leighty in chemistry and Mrs. Leighty in biology. In the 1940s, Dr. Leighty worked on the Eli Lilly and Company team that first produced penicillin. He was involved in developing, producing and supervising the production of other antibiotics. Dr. and Mrs. Leighty contributed generously to science scholarship and helped make the Leighty-Tabor Science Center a reality.
For further history and noteworthy faculty and alumni, read Dr. George Bennett's history of the department, entitled, A Century of Chemistry at Millikin University (August 2000). You might also enjoy reading what Corinne Cullina (class of 2008) and Danielle Daykin (class of 2009) learned about the "academic genealogy" or line of intellectual succession for some of the faculty members in the department.